Archive | 9:06 pm

big boy bed!

28 Feb

20120228-205231.jpg

20120228-205235.jpg

When Jesse told me this morning that he had found Orrin perched “spiderman style” (that’s hands and feet) on the rail of his crib, I knew the inevitable had arrived. I have been in denial about this impending change, where I would lose the last place in the house that I could put him and know that he would stay. I dreaded the nights of training him to stay in bed, because I couldn’t imagine him having that kind of freedom and not USING it!

BUT his safety is pretty much #1, so I took one side off the crib today, before he even had a chance to fall from his spiderman perch. 🙂 He was ecstatic. He desperately wanted to “help” so he kept stealing the screwdriver and sticking it in holes, saying “okay” as he went. And then when he realized that he could get in and out of his bed on his own, he just kept jumping in. He piled all of his favorite toys on his pillow.

And tonight when I put him to bed, he just cuddled down as usual and said “okay, night night! Bye bye mama!” He’s not even up playing with his trains.

When did my baby get so big?!